The European Securities and Markets Authority has elected a new member to its Management Board to replace an outgoing member who has stepped down from her position. The election took place at the Board of Supervisors meeting in Paris on 14 December and the successful candidate, who will serve the remainder of the outgoing member’s term until 31 May 2018, is:

  • Gabriela Figueiredo Dias, of the Comissao do mercado de valores mobiliários (CMVM) of Portugal.

The outgoing member is Lourdes Centeno of the Comisión Nacional del Mercado de Valores (CNMV) of Spain.
The Management Board, chaired by Steven Maijoor, Chair of ESMA, is responsible for ensuring that the Authority carries out its mission and performs the tasks assigned to it under its founding Regulation. The Management Board now consists of:

  • Steven Maijoor, European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA);
  • Elisabeth Roegele, Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht (BaFin), Germany;
  • Cyril Roux, Central Bank of Ireland (CBI), Ireland;
  • Gérard Rameix, Autorité des Marchés Financiers (AMF), France;
  • Klaus Kumpfmüller, Finanzmarktaufsicht (FMA), Austria;
  • Marek Szuszkiewicz, Komisja Nadzoru Finanswego (KNF), Poland; and
  • Gabriela Figueiredo Dias, Comissao do mercado de valores mobiliários (CMVM), Portugal.

Notes for editors
1. More information on the Management Board can be found here.
2. The Board of Supervisors is the main decision-taking body of ESMA, consisting of the heads of the 28 national supervisors chaired by Steven Maijoor, ESMA Chair.
3. ESMA’s mission is to enhance investor protection and promote stable and orderly financial markets.
It achieves these objectives through four activities:
a. assessing risks to investors, markets and financial stability;
b. completing a single rulebook for EU financial markets;
c. promoting supervisory convergence; and
d. directly supervising specific financial entities.
4. ESMA achieves its mission within the European System of Financial Supervision (ESFS) through active cooperation with the European Banking Authority (EBA), the European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority (EIOPA), the European Systemic Risk Board, and with national authorities with competencies in securities markets (NCAs).