Dear Guest! If you find an error on the page or you have any technical question please call the customer service center. Phone number is 06-80-203-776. The Central Bank of Hungary.

The euro


The euro is the single currency of the European Union, introduced on 1 January 1999 as a virtual currency for cashless payments and for settlement purposes. Euro banknotes and coins were put into circulation on 1 January 2002.

Euro issued in the form of cash is currently used by 19 of the 27 member states, affecting around 340 million people every day.

The countries using the euro are:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Cyprus
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Portugal
  • Spain
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia

This website uses cookies to provide a more convenient browsing experience. By using this website, you accept the use of cookies. Please read our Cookie Guidelines, for more information on cookies, including information on how to disable or delete them.I accept

Please be informed that our Data Protection Guidelines were changed to be compliant with data protection laws.I understand