The recipient of Lamfalussy Award 2018 is Dr. Zhou Xiaochuan, Governor of the People’s Bank of China and Chairman of the Monetary Policy Committee. 

In March 2013, he was elected Vice Chairman of the National Committee of the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference. Dr. Zhou also serves as Governor for China to the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the African Development Bank (ADB), the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB), and the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD). He sits on the Board of Directors of the Bank for International Settlements (BIS), and is a member of the Group of Thirty (G30) and the Chinese Economists 50 Forum. He was a member of the Committee to Study Long-term Financing of IMF, the Commission of Growth and Development of the World Bank, and a member of the High-Level Committee on World Bank Governance Reform.

Prior to taking his current position, Dr. Zhou served as Chairman of the China Securities Regulatory Commission (2000-2002), President of the China Construction Bank (1998-2000), Deputy Governor of the People’s Bank of China (1996-1998), Administrator of the State Administration of Foreign Exchange (1995-1998), Vice President of the Bank of China (1991-1995), and Assistant Minister in the Ministry of Foreign Trade and Economic Cooperation (1986-1989). 

Dr. Zhou is a professor and advisor of doctorate candidates at the Tsinghua University’s School of Economics and Management and PBC School of Finance. He is also an honorary professor at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. He graduated from the Beijing Institute of Chemical Technology in 1975 and received his Ph.D. degree in System Engineering from Tsinghua University in 1985. Dr. Zhou is among the first group of Chinese experts who are entitled to receive special government allowance, and the author of over 100 academic papers and more than 10 books. As one of the major contributors of the „Theory of Holistic and Coordinated Reform”, Dr. Zhou won the China Economic Theory Innovation Award in 2010.